Parenting@Chauncy

PARENTING

Year Seven Transition Parenting Course 2016

A five week course designed to help you and your child settle into life at Chauncy School.

Tuesday 13th September 2016 – Tuesday 11th October 2016  from  6.30pm – 8.30pm.

Programme:
  • Session 1: Tuesday 13th September – Welcome to all
  • Session 2: Tuesday 20th September – Learning@Chauncy Evening
  • Session 3: Tuesday 27th September – Homework and the Pastoral System
  • Session 4: Tuesday 4th October – The role of the School Nurse
  • Session 5: Tuesday 11th October – Attendance, Bullying and Nurturing yourselves

For further information please contact Sarah Davies on 01920 411200 or e-mail: parenting@chauncy.org.uk

New Resources:
http://parentinfo.org/ – Parent Info provides high quality information to parents and carers about their children’s wellbeing and resilience.
Last Year’s Programme
Dates for Spring 2016

Whole School – Top Tips for Parents Course:

Top Tips for parenting Teenagers

A 5 week course designed to help you through the minefield of parenting.

Tuesday 12th January – Tuesday 9th February 2016     Time: 6.30pm – 8.30pm

Programme:

Session 1: Tuesday 12th January – Welcome to all, Expectations of the course and Introduction to Communicating with your Teen, Assertiveness and Consistency.

Session 2: Tuesday 19th January – Drugs & Alcohol. Guest speaker Tim Simmonds, Future Hope.

Session 3: Tuesday 26th January – Internet safety and boundaries.

Session 4: Tuesday 2nd February – depression in Teens, Guest speaker Tim Simmonds, Future Hope.

Session 5: Tuesday 9th February – Coping with Exams. Guest speaker Mandy Overton, Academic Coach.

PARENTING SUPPORT OFFERED AT CHAUNCY

The ‘Top Tips for Parents’ course is open to all parents and runs in the Spring Term. The course is made up of 5 sessions with a mix of outside speakers covering topics from Drugs & Alcohol to coping with exam stress.

A parent needing one-to-one support with their teenager is also a facility we offer.  This can also include mediation between parent and child. Please contact Sarah Davies in the first instance to make an appointment.

Chauncy is renowned for the support we offer parents and we are used as an example of good practise in Hertfordshire.

If you would like any further information please contact Sarah Davies  parenting co-ordinator.

Dates for Autumn 2015

Year Seven Transition Parenting Course

A five week course designed to help you and your child settle into life at Chauncy School.

Tuesday 15th September 2015 – Tuesday 13th October 2015 6.30pm – 8.30pm.

Programme:
  • Session 1: Tuesday 15th September – Welcome to all.
  • Session 2: Tuesday 22rd September – Learning @ Chauncy Evening.
  • Session 3: Tuesday 29th September
  • Session 4: Tuesday 6th October
  • Session 5: Tuesday 13th October

For further information please contact Sarah Davies on 01920 411200 or e-mail: parenting@chauncy.org.uk